Board of Education

Board of Education for the Shawnee Mission School District


Our seven board members are elected by the Shawnee Mission voters. The board of education serves as the district's governing body in accordance with state and federal law. One member is elected from each of the district's five areas: East, North, Northwest, South, and West. Two members are elected as At-Large representatives for the district. All members serve without pay.

Board members are responsible for policymaking, adopting the budget, and approving personnel curriculum, and other business matters. The board hires the superintendent and oversees the superintendent's responsibilities and performance.

Board of education meetings are normally held at 6 p.m. on the second and fourth Monday of the month at the Center for Academic Achievement, 8200 W. 71st Street, in the board room.  All regular meetings of the board are open to the public.

Board members value community input and welcome correspondence. 

Communication with Board Members

There are a variety of ways patrons and citizens can communicate with the district or board members. If you have questions, comments or concerns, the following communication channels are available:  

  1. The district’s general email for questions:
  2. For specific complaints, related to specific issues or individuals (a teacher, a student, bullying), please fill out a complaint form. Complaint forms are located on Board Docs and can be found by following these steps:

a)     Visit the BoardDocs site.

b)     ​Click on Policies in the upper right-hand section of the page.

c)     On the left-hand side where it says “Book” change the menu to say​“Board Policy/Appendix/Forms” and expand that section by clicking the +.

d)     Select the needed form.

3.  Public comments at board meetings

a)     All commenters are asked to review the guidelines for public comment.

b)     All commenters are asked to fill out an information card.

c)     ​Patrons are encouraged to electronically submit their requests to speak during the Public Comment section of the meeting to by 3:30 p.m. the Friday before a regularly-scheduled Monday board meeting. Those hoping to present public comment can also provide signed information cards in person to Terry Wintering by 5:50 p.m. on the day of the board meeting at the Center for Academic Achievement, 8200 W. 71st St. 

Philosophy of Education

The Shawnee Mission School District will provide comprehensive education in a secure environment of cooperation and mutual respect among students, faculty, families and the community.

Our curriculum will provide a rigorous academic challenge and reflect current knowledge of students and how they learn. Students will be offered an educational program appropriate for their needs, interests, and abilities. They will be taught the skills needed for successful living in a changing world.

The school, family, and community will work together to enable students to develop self-confidence, self-discipline, the ability to work cooperatively with others, aesthetic awareness, recognition of the inevitability of change, and a commitment to learning throughout life.

All students need to understand their individual rights, that responsibilities accompany those rights, and the heritage that assures those rights and responsibilities.

Board of education meetings are normally held on the second and fourth Monday each month at 6 p.m. in the Center for Academic Achievement board rooms, 8200 W. 71st Street. All regular meetings of the board are open to the public.

The board values maintaining communication with all constituents. The public is urged to contact board members by writing them at 8200 W. 71st Street, Shawnee Mission, KS 66204.

For more information, please contact Terry Wintering, Clerk of the Board at (913) 993-6401 or​.​

At-Large Member:

Brad Stratton
(913) 993-6396

At-Large Member:

Head shot Heather Ousley board member

Heather Ousley​
Vice President
(913) 993-6385

SM Northwest Area:

Patty Mach
(913) 993-6392​​

SM East Area:

Mary Sinclair​
(913) 993-6386

SM North Area:

Sara Goodburn
(913) 993-6393​​​

SM South Area:

Deb Zila
(913) 993-6395

SM West Area:

Laura Guy
(913) 993-6387

BoardDocs Link

Public Comments at Meetings

Meeting Videos - Watch Past Meetings

Board Meeting Recap

District Program Evaluations