District History

In January 1969, the Kansas Legislature passed Senate Bill Number 58 “providing for the establishment of one unified school district to include all of the territory of any rural high school district in which there are located at least two cities of the first class.”  

As a result of SB #58, effective July 1, 1969, the 12 elementary school districts and the Shawnee Mission High School District were unified into the present Shawnee Mission School District #512. As USD 512, we are the final unified school district in Kansas. 

At the time of unification, there were 48 elementary schools, 10 junior high schools and four high schools in operation. The Shawnee Mission School District includes the cities of Westwood, Westwood Hills, Mission Woods, Mission, Fairway, Roeland Park, Merriam, Shawnee, Overland Park, Lenexa, Prairie Village, Leawood, Countryside and Mission Hills.

For more information please visit our History Wall located on the first floor across from the Business Office.