Congratulations SMSD Teacher of the Year Honorees

Congratulations SMSD Teacher of the Year Honorees
Shawnee Mission School District

The Shawnee Mission School District (SMSD) is fortunate to have many talented educators helping students achieve their personal best.

As Educator Appreciation Week began, the SMSD held a reception to formally honor this year’s building-level Teacher of the Year award winners. Each school in the district had the opportunity to nominate an educator as its Teacher of the Year. Each of these nominees were honored at this event.

Superintendent Dr. Michelle Hubbard encouraged all honorees to reflect on the fact that each honoree was nominated by a parent or colleague and that they were chosen to represent their schools.

“You represent the best of the best in Shawnee Mission,” Dr. Hubbard expressed to the attendees. 

Dr. Darren Dennis spoke about the overwhelming evidence that shows how important teachers are in the lives of students. Not only do teachers make a difference in numerous academic outcomes, they also make lives better, he added.

“This is a tough time to be a teacher so that makes it more important to stop, take time, and celebrate your work,” he shared.

The Shawnee Mission School District selected two among the honorees to serve as the district nominees for the Kansas Teacher of the Year recognition. Amy Sachse, a fourth-grade teacher at Corinth, was the elementary nominee. She was recognized this spring as a semifinalist in the state program that recognizes outstanding educators.

Sachse shared she is a “proud graduate and employee” of the Shawnee Mission School District. As she achieved her dream of becoming an educator, Sachse said she realized how the career is much more complicated and rewarding than she had imagined. It didn’t take long to realize she couldn’t do it alone. Sachse took time during the district ceremony to thank the many individuals who have helped her achieve her lifelong dream of becoming an educator, including administrators, colleagues, family, members, friends, and students.

Wraye Royle, seventh-grade math teacher at Indian Hills, also spoke about achieving her dream of being a teacher in the SMSD. She thanked the many colleagues, friends, and family members who have helped her achieve her dream. Royle noted that students from her first year of teaching and her first group of students as a teacher in the Shawnee Mission School District are all members of the class of 2022. She thanked all of her students and extended an extra word of congratulations to all who graduate from high school this year.

“It is so rewarding to be a part of this community and watch my students grow,” she added.

Here is a look at all Shawnee Mission School District 2022 Teacher of the Year Honorees



Apache IS -Tori Gamis

Belinder-Shannon Langdon

Bluejacket-Flint-Danica Mitchell

Briarwood-Lisa Berbiglia

Broken Arrow-Stacy Redus

Brookridge-Stephanie Wilhite

Brookwood-Ellen Wilson

Christa McAuliffe-Michelle Henley

Comanche-Amy Clements

Corinth-Amy Sachse

Crestview-Sherri Matlock

East Antioch-Christina (Christi) Smith

Highlands-Tracie Babbitt

John Diemer-Laura Holland

Lenexa Hills-Amara Baker

Merriam Park-Archie Pozek

Mill Creek-Jessica Jaynes

Nieman-Amy Jonason

Oak Park-Carpenter-Becky Martin

Overland Park-Taryn Tyler

Pawnee-Abbey Kobylinski

Prairie-Kodi Lash

Ray Marsh-Jennifer Price

Rhein Benninghoven- LeAnna Kemp

Rising Star-Erin Stout

Roesland-Amelia Williams

Rosehill-Katie Lindner

Rushton-Katelyn Emerson

Santa Fe Trail-Dr. Laura Herrick

Shawanoe-Patricia Keys

Sunflower-Tammy Shackelford

Tomahawk-April Cremer

Trailwood-Diana Seamon

Westwood View-Matt Mirsch


Hocker Grove-Alyssa Passmore

Indian Hills-Wraye Royle

Indian Woods-Kristin Archer

Trailridge-Jessica Wilhelm

Westridge-Richard Bellotti

Shawnee Mission East-Amanda Doane

Shawnee Mission North-Anna Cook

Shawnee Mission Northwest-Rebecca Anthony

Shawnee Mission South-Melissa Olson

Shawnee Mission West-None

Center for Academic Achievement-Connie Gandy

All attendees took a moment to thank Mindy Messmer, social studies teacher at Westridge Middle School, and Anna Sahadeo, second-grade teacher at Lenexa Hills, for their time and dedication to the Teacher of the Year program in Shawnee Mission.