Nominate an Outstanding SMSD Teacher

Nominate an Outstanding SMSD Teacher
Shawnee Mission School District

Do you know a Shawnee Mission School District (SMSD) teacher who should be recognized as the best in the state? Our community is now invited to nominate SMSD educators for the Kansas Teacher of the Year award.

Anyone in our community is encouraged to nominate deserving educators in the SMSD for this statewide recognition.

Click the form below to submit your nomination for Kansas Teacher of the Year 2023:

Form in English

En Espanol

Nominations are due by Tuesday, August 31, 2021.

To be eligible, teachers must:

·                 have completed three years in the SMSD

·                 have completed five years in the profession

·                 currently serve as a teacher

The Kansas Teacher of the Year program recognizes excellent teachers across the state. Each school district in Kansas is able to nominate one elementary and one secondary candidate for the program. The person named Kansas Teacher of the Year is able to enter the National Teacher of the Year competition. Honorees join a network of teachers from across the state who share best practices and ideas.

Natalie Johnson-Berry, SM North English language arts educator, is currently a Region 3 Secondary finalist for Kansas Teacher of the Year. She was nominated by the SMSD along with Crystal Brower, a kindergarten teacher from Shawanoe.

Tabatha Rosproy, a Kansas educator, was the 2020 National Teacher of the Year.