Shawnee Mission Students Named U.S. Presidential Scholar Candidates

Presidential Scholar Candidates 2024
Shawnee Mission School District

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program named six Shawnee Mission seniors as candidates. Each year, up to 161 students are named Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

Shawnee Mission School District candidates are:

Shawnee Mission East:
Aanya Bansal
Mitchell E. Blair
Kael E. Mercer
Katherine Murphy

Shawnee Mission Northwest:
Theodore O. Ohly

Shawnee Mission South:
Emma E. Krueger

Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

To qualify, candidates must score exceptionally well on either the SAT or the ACT and must be nominated by their Chief State School Officer (CSSO).

The program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors for their many accomplishments. 

The U.S. Department of Education will announce the Scholars in May. Scholars are awarded a Presidential Scholar medallion and are honored during the National Recognition Program in June.