Council for Educational Administration Honors Shawnee Mission School District Leaders

UCEA Award Winners
Shawnee Mission School District

The University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA) honored two Shawnee Mission School District administrators for their significant contributions to improving administrator preparation.

Dr. Kenny Southwick, deputy superintendent, and Dr. Christy Zeigler, assistant superintendent of personalized learning/interim director of special education were presented with the UCEA Excellence in Educational Leadership Award. Dr. Debbie Mercer, dean of Kansas State University’s College of Education at Kansas State University, attended the September 24 regular Shawnee Mission Board of Education meeting to present this prestigious award.

The UCEA, is a consortium of selective universities throughout the United States and Canada that confers doctorate degrees in educational administration and leadership. 

Nominees include candidates who not only contributed to the improvement of administrator preparation, but also those who have demonstrated an exemplary record of supporting school administrator preparation efforts.

Mercer said Dr. Southwick has served as a driving force supporting the Shawnee Mission School District/Kansas State University LEAD Leadership Academy and the College of Education’s many projects in partnership with the Shawnee Mission School District.

Dr. Ziegler serves as Professor of Practice in the Department of Educational Leadership at Kansas State University where she co-directs the Shawnee Mission School District/Kansas State University LEAD Leadership Academy.

“Our partnership is a powerful asset for both our organizations,” Mercer said. I am proud of the work we are collectively accomplishing.