Shawnee Mission Mathletes Compete in Championship

Shawnee Mission Mathletes Compete in Championship
Shawnee Mission School District

Problems were no match for Shawnee Mission competitors.

Teams who had placed first in their regional mathletics competition gathered at the Center for Academic Achievement for the districtwide Elementary Mathletics Finals on March 4. Each region coincides with a district feeder pattern.

Students worked in teams to solve algebra, geometry, ratio, and fraction challenges.

“Each problem required a high degree of logic and reasoning,” noted Erin Smith, elementary math and science coordinator.  

The entire event took place before an audience of family members, friends, teachers, and principals who came to watch and cheer on the teams.

The following teams were declared first-place winners in the districtwide, district-sponsored competition. 

Fourth Grade – Westwood View Elementary School: Landry Duchene, Yabo Wang, Oliver Jones (Teacher sponsor, Jana Winklebauer).

Fifth Grade– Rhein Benninghoven: Joseph Candelario, Rylee Mendez, Alex Wood (Teacher sponsor, Samantha Campbell)

Sixth Grade – Briarwood: Jack Passan, Henry Stiglic, Luke Taylor (Teacher sponsor, Karen Otey)