Shawnee Mission Students Named Shooting Stars Scholarship Recipients

Shooting Star Recipients Graphic
Shawnee Mission School District

Shawnee Mission School District high school seniors have been recognized for their artistic excellence.

They were recently named recipients of Shooting Star Scholarship awards from the Arts Council of Johnson County during a gala held at Johnson County Community College.

“In being chosen for your artistic talent and your scholarship, I would tell you that you are the best of the best,” Dr. Mary E. Davidson, honorary chair said to recipients at the gala.  “You can be very proud of this singular honor.”

Arts teachers from schools throughout Johnson County are invited to nominate two students each year. Students are nominated for achievement in literacy, performing and visual arts.

This year’s Shawnee Mission Shooting Star Recipients include:

Abigail Roberts, Second Place, Shawnee Mission Northwest nominated by Kimberly Ruttan

Production and Design
Bryanna Conde, Second Place, Shawnee Mission North nominated by Chris Palmer

Catherine Steinacker, Second Place, Shawnee Mission Northwest nominated by Jeffrey Bishop

Theatre Performance
Devyn Trondson, Second Place, Shawnee Mission Northwest nominated by Jason Coats

Winds and Percussion
Nicholas Velicer, First Place, Shawnee Mission South nominated by Steve Adams
Teacher award presented to Steve Adams, Shawnee Mission South

At the gala, nine first place scholarships of $1,400 each, nine second place scholarships of $700 each and nine teacher honorariums of $350 were awarded. The Shooting Stars Recognition, Scholarship & Awards Program was created in 1997, by former Arts Council of Johnson County chairman Bob Endres. His vision was to create a program that celebrated young Johnson County artists for their artistic excellence in high school.