Teacher Appreciation Week Begins

Teacher Appreciation Week Begins
Shawnee Mission School District

May 4-8 marks Teacher Appreciation Week across the country and in Shawnee Mission.

We encourage everyone in our community to thank and celebrate those who educate Shawnee Mission students throughout the year. Their service in the Shawnee Mission School District serves as a bridge to help our students reach unlimited possibilities.

“We have faced tremendous challenges this year, but we have shown our greatest strength in the ways we have persevered in order to do what is best for students,” Superintendent Dr. Mike Fulton said. “I join the Board of Education in thanking and commending our teachers for all of the ways they have dedicated themselves to helping each student achieve their personal best.”

The district had planned two formal ceremonies in conjunction with this week of recognition: the districtwide Kansas Teacher of the Year nominee ceremony and the Retirement and Service Pin recognition ceremony. While these events may will not take place in person, we acknowledge the outstanding contributions of these educators here. They are representative of the outstanding educators who make a difference in the lives of students across the district. See the list of retirees and service pin recipients here.

KTOY Honorees

Earlier this year, school communities were encouraged to nominate honorees as part of the Kansas Teacher of the Year program. Each school had the opportunity to nominate someone to be considered elementary or secondary honoree and recognized at a districtwide ceremony. Crystal Brower, Shawanoe Kindergarten Teacher and Natalie Johnson-Berry, English Language Arts Teacher at Shawnee Mission North will serve as the 2021 Kansas Teacher of the Year nominees. While the ceremony could not take place, we wanted to acknowledge the honorees here:

Apache, Kari Bowles

Brookridge, Angela Metcalf

East Antioch, Christina Lea Smith

Highlands, Marie Hooker

Lenexa Hills, Steffanie Booth

Mill Creek, Angela Fritschie

Pawnee, Jamie English

Prairie, Esther DeVault

Rosehill, Bridgette Fullington

Santa Fe Trail, D. Renee McCracken

Shawanoe, Crystal Brower

Tomahawk, Caren Chambers

Hocker Grove, Stephanie Dalrymple

Indian Hills, Kyle Chamberlin

Indian Woods, Vanessa Hannan

Trailridge, Jeffrey Bishop

Westridge, Parker Guidry

Center for Academic Achievement, Jessica Tickle

Shawnee Mission East, Trey Witt

Shawnee Mission North, Natalie Johnson-Berry

Shawnee Mission South, Andrea Dale

Shawnee Mission West, Brandon Claypool

Retirement and Service Pin Honorees This year, the SMSD honors 71 certified and classified retirees and 141 certified and classified service pin recipients, who represent 3,355 years of service to the school district. In the coming days, honorees will be mailed tokens of appreciation to honor their service to the district.