Special Education

Special Ed Photo Cropped

Special education and related services are provided to eligible students with disabilities ages 3 to 21 and to students who qualify for gifted services Kindergarten through grade 12. Infants and toddlers with developmental delays or disabilities are served through Infant Toddler Services of Johnson County.

Special education in Shawnee Mission is specially designed instruction that enables students to make continuous progress in school. Special education services are present within each school and are an integral part of Shawnee Mission's comprehensive school system. 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

As amended by the United States Congress in 2004, IDEA is a federally-funded statute that requires a free and appropriate public education for students who meet eligibility in one or more of the 13 federal disability definitions. The act has provisions for evaluation, placement, and an individualized education plan (IEP) for eligible students who require specially designed instruction provided by special education certified personnel. Procedural safeguards for parents and the school district are a component of this act. The IDEA is enforced by the U.S. Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) and monitored locally by the Kansas Department of Education.

The Shawnee Mission School District uses compliant practices as described in the Kansas Special Education Process Handbook that is published by the Kansas State Department of Education, which is available online.

Special Education Department Contacts:

Center for Academic Achievement                                                   
8200 W. 71st Street Shawnee Mission, KS 66204
Phone: (913) 993-8600
Fax: (913) 993-8614

Sherry DumolienChief of Special Education

Dr. Jennifer DancerAssistant Director of Special Education
(Arrowhead School, McAuliffe Elementary, Santa Fe Elementary, Westwood View Elementary)

Emily Demo, Coordinator of Special Education
(Benninghoven Elementary, Diemer Elementary, Highlands Elementary, Pawnee Elementary, Trailwood Elementary) 

Debra DuPree, Coordinator of Special Education
(Hocker Grove Middle School, Indian Hills Middle School, Indian Woods Middle School, Trailridge Middle School, Westridge Middle School)

Katie Laird, Coordinator of Special Education
(Belinder Elementary, Bluejacket Flint Elementary, Broken Arrow Elementary, Oak Park Carpenter Elementary, Prairie Elementary, Sunflower Elementary, Tomahawk Elementary) 

Olivia Riscovallez, Coordinator of Special Education
(Briarwood Elementary, Crestview Elementary, Corinth Elementary, Mill Creek Elementary, Nieman Elementary, Ray Marsh Elementary, Rising Star Elementary, Roesland Elementary, Shawanoe Elementary)

Linda Scott, Coordinator of Special Education,
(Apache Elementary, Brookridge Elementary, Brookwood Elementary, Comanche Elementary, East Antioch Elementary, Lenexa Hills Elementary, Merriam Park Elementary, Overland Park Elementary, Rosehill Elementary, Rushton Elementary) 

Tracy Smarr-Dolezal, Coordinator of Special Education                                                                                                             (Early Childhood Education Center, Unified PreK Schools)

Amanda Wade, Coordinator of Special Education
(Horizons High School, SM North High School, SM South High School, SM East High School, SM West High School, SM Northwest High School, Post High Transition)

Sarah Ingraham, Secretary

Kelly Ingram, Secretary

Shawnee Mission Early Childhood Education Center  (SMECEC)
6701 W 83rd St
Overland Park, KS 66204
Phone:(913) 993-2600
Fax: (913) 993-2699

Carla Heintz, Principal of Early Childhood Education