Calendar

District Calendars 

Click on the calendar links below to view, download or print a PDF version.

School Calendars

Please visit the school sites to view their specific calendars

District Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Mon, Jul 15
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Sun, Jul 21
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3

Search Calendar

Date Range
-

REGULAR SCHOOL HOURS
Kindergarten-------------------- 8:10 a.m. - 3:10 p.m.
Pre-kindergarten--------------- 8:15 a.m. - 11 a.m. and 12:15 p.m. - 3 p.m.
Elementary School ------------ 8:10 a.m. - 3:10 p.m.
Middle School ------------------ 8:45 a.m. - 3:45 p.m.
High School --------------------- 7:40 a.m. - 2:40 p.m.

EARLY DISMISSAL HOURS
Kindergarten ------------------ 8:10 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Elementary School ---------- 8:10 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Middle School ---------------- 8:45 a.m. - 1:45 p.m.
High School ------------------- 7:40 a.m. - 1:10 p.m.

BUS INFORMATION
In accordance with state statute, the district offers free transportation to students living more than 2.5 miles from the school in their regular attendance area. Families living closer than 2.5 miles may contract for transportation with the local bus company. 

PARENT/TEACHER CONFERENCES
Consistent communication between parents and teachers is key to students' academic success. The district adjusted the way it conducted communication between teachers and parents in 2017-18. Instead of a single designated conference day that can be difficult for working parents, our teachers will hold conference times throughout the year as needed in addition to the designated fall and spring evening conferences. Teachers or parents can make appointments before, during or after school. Conferences can be held in person, through FaceTime or a WebEx. 

INCLEMENT WEATHER PROCEDURES
When school must be closed because of inclement weather, the district will notify all area radio and television stations. 

When the decision is made during the evening prior to the day of closing, the information will be provided to the media for broadcast on the 10 p.m. television newscasts and on radio. If the decision is made after 10 p.m., the information will be provided to radio and television stations for broadcast on the 6 a.m. and subsequent newscasts on the day of the cancellation. 

For school closing information, call the district's 24-Hour Information Hotline at (913) 993-7380, watch district cable television channels, sign up for SMSD Alert or join the district's social networking pages found on Facebook and Twitter. If you do not hear an announcement from the media or through district communication outlets, assume school will be in session.

Please make arrangements for your child's care in advance. This is particularly important for those rare occasions when school must be dismissed early due to emergency or because extreme weather conditions develop after students have arrived at school. 
For your child's safety on early dismissal days, please inform your school principal in advance about the procedure to be followed if you cannot be reached during the school day. 
• Facebook
• Twitter
• SMTV: Spectrum channel 2 (98- 2) and 18 (98- 18), Consolidated Communications channel 18, & AT&T U-Verse channel 99 

CALENDAR CHANGES
The board of education reserves the right to change the school calendar to respond to emergencies or other unforeseen circumstances that affect the educational program or students’ welfare. This calendar includes four inclement weather days. Calendar is subject to changes and/or updates.